Review / Goan Heritage Thali – Morisco, Taj Aguada Fort Resort & Spa, Goa

Review / Goan Heritage Thali – Morisco, Taj Aguada Fort Resort & Spa, Goa

Pocket

Disclaimer : All photographs and videos have a copyright @Boudhaayan. They are shot on Nikon D5300 and GoPro Hero. None of the photos and videos are to be used without permission. Opinions expressed here are mine, based on my personal stay and experience

We were in search of an authentic Goan thali! We had visited couple of places in Goa and eventually landed up at Morisco. The location of the restaurant is spectacular and it has amazing views of the Sinquerim beach and broad view of other beaches like Candolim and Calangute.

Morisco, at Taj Aguada Resort and Spa had got rave reviews and were recommended by quite a few of the food connoisseurs. We wanted to get a first hand experience, and here we were, at Morisco. It was a sultry Wednesday afternoon, and I was pretty surprised to see it almost full.

View of Sinquerim Beach from Morisco
View of the Fort on the Other Side of Morisco

We were interested to meet the Chef and understand why People flock for the Goan Thali here! We wanted to find out the real reason, why, they had a dedicated clientele only for the Goan Heritage Thali.

We were lucky enough to meet the Executive Chef – Mr. Hrudananda Behera who took us through the history of Goan cuisine and took us through what Morisco had to offer on Goan Heritage Thali.

Executive Chef – Hrudananda Behera

Chef talked about three specific thalis : The Seafood Thali, The Meat Thali and The Veg Thali.

He also explained that these thalis were built on three cuisine pillars – The Saraswat Cuisine, The Portuguese Cuisine and the Local Goan Cuisine.

The seafood thali had a drink, a salad (fruity and delicious), dried prawns (We loved it so Much that we asked for more….ohh yes, they give you unlimited..), mud crab cooked in Xacuti masala, amazing prawn (so sweet) curry and a king fish Peri Peri. The thali was served with both brown and white rice. Ale Belle (traditional goan delicacy) was served as desert!

The Seafood Thali ( One of the Goan Heritage Thali)
Click on the Video Above to have a Look at the Tempting Seafood Thali
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0658-2-1200x800.jpg
Crab Xec Xec (Mud Crab Cooked in Xacuti Masala)
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0144-1-1200x800.jpg
KingFish Peri Peri

The Meat thali was equally unique. Along with the drink (sole kodi) and salad, it had chicken cafreal (Traditional goan cuisine) which doesn’t have any coconut and the taste comes from the coriander and a touch of mint, which is marinated overnight and then slow cooked to bring up to it’s taste! It also had chicken vindaloo ( another Traditional goan cuisine), mutton Xacuti (another Traditional goan cuisine), chicken Sukha Masala (an important dish in Saraswat Cuisine) and ale belle as dessert.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0126-2-1200x800.jpg
The Meat Thali ( One of the Goan Heritage Thali)
Click and Watch The Delectable Meat Thali
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0148-1-1200x800.jpg
Mutton Xacuti
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0653-2-1200x800.jpg
Chicken Vindaloo

The Veg Thali was very interesting and had the below items. As per chef, these were traditionally Goan and typical Goan masala and other items like kokum and dried mangoes were used, to arrive at the typical Goan taste.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0131-1-1200x800.jpg
Goan Dal Masala
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0666-1-1200x800.jpg
Khatkhateam (A mixed vegetable in roasted coconut gravy)
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0665-1-1200x800.jpg
“Lal Saag” Goan Style
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0664-1-1200x800.jpg
Iriel Bhaji (Runner Bean bhaji)
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0663-1-1200x800.jpg
Rawa fried raw banana
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0662-1200x800.jpg
Salad Idaliana
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0661-1200x800.jpg
Sole Kodi

The Sole Kodi was specific to Morisco. It is a specially crafted drink which you need to have before starting the meal. The ingredients used in it, opens up the taste buds and you get to enjoy your food more! This comes with either of the thalis – seafood / meat / veg.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0139-1200x800.jpg
Alle Belle
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0143-1-1200x800.jpg
Alle Belle Again…this time with Mango

This is also a desert which is served in all the thalis and is specific to Morisco. You won’t get it anywhere else!

You Cant Miss The Veg Thali at Morisco! Go Feast….!!
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0141-1200x800.jpg
Assorted Papads
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0652-1200x800.jpg
Balcao Naan

The Balcao Naan was another item, which is specific to Morisco. The naans are delicious and are infused with balcao spices, which makes them heavenly!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_0650-1200x800.jpg
Dessert platter in order from left : Bebinca, Pinag, Dodol, Doce
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DSC_0156-1200x800.jpg
Sheradura

The desserts were out of the world! All of the desserts were specific to Goa and never before had I got all of them in a platter!

While gorging in all the three thalis, we kept on talking to the Chef, trying to understand the USP (Unique Selling Proposition) of their Goan Heritage Thalis. The thalis were all crafted painstakingly by the executive Chef – Mr. Behera, who had travelled all across Goa to understand its cuisine and then present it with his own twist at Morisco!

You Can’t Miss on this – Chef talks about the USP !

Post the sumptuous meal, we were full in our minds and hearts. The food at Morisco was amazing and represented true Goan heritage.

TRAVELISMYPASSION RATINGS :

Location of Morisco : 9.5 / 10

Access to The Restaurant : Beachside/Seaside (In case You want to come to this restaurant and you are not a hotel guest, you would have to come in through the main gate of Taj Aguada, proceed to the reception and come down by the stairs. Morisco is by the pool side, in front of the sea.

Atmosphere : 9/10

It has an open architecture. Hence, no AC. Enjoy the views of the fort on one side and the beach on the other, while you gorge on your food!

SeaFood Thali: 10/10

Meat Thali: 10/10

Veg Thali: 10/10

Price: 9/10

Thalis are priced at INR 1200 plus taxes. Looking at the variety and knowing it is unlimited, the price is very lucrative! You can even ask for a mixed seafood and meat thali! 🙂

Attitude Of Staff at Morisco: 9.5/10

You get a taste of true Taj Hospitality, even if you are not staying at the resort!

OVERALL RATING : 9.8/10

Still Thinking?

Head to Morisco! You don’t know what you are missing, if you are looking for authentic Goan Cuisine and have still not been here! 🙂

The End

Share

2 thoughts on “Review / Goan Heritage Thali – Morisco, Taj Aguada Fort Resort & Spa, Goa

  1. Having Good food is my favourite thing in the whole world, Nothing is more blissfull for Gourmet like me.
    Paul, you have described the Goan thali of Morisco so vivid that I can feel it’s deliciousness on my taste buds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *